Blog, Lifestyle, Travel

Thoughts on a Train

A few weeks ago I was in New York City with one of my greatest friends, Emma. We went alone with no real plans and it was awesome.

On this trip we had to figure it out as we went. We walked all over, got lost, ate at new places, and tried new things. (I discovered I love sushi and hate macaroons.) Emma is one of those people who never really meets a stranger, so inevitably we met dozens of people in the span of three days. Young people, old people, tourists, and true New Yorkers. It was so fun to hear so many stories and the different ways people wound up in such an interesting place.

IMG_1354IMG_1389IMG_1362

After our first day in the city I was riding the train back to where we were staying in New Jersey; I was feeling so small. I think such a huge place full of so many people will do that to you. This feeling is one of the things I love and hate about New York. The world is much bigger than just us and the people we know. There’s a whole city that I know virtually nothing about. There’s so many people living their lives and going through things I know nothing about. I love the adventure of learning as I go and figuring out how to get from point A to B, but it’s scary at the same time, in a good way.

Life is kind of like that sometimes. We go through every day living and learning. We never really can know what’s going to happen tomorrow or next month or next year. We try to make plans, but they often change. We change. We can never be fully prepared. This is terrifying to the over planner within me but encouraging at the same time. I have over-planned quite a few things that thankfully God changed for the better.

I want to keep chasing that feeling of being small. God created a universe infinitely bigger than we could ever imagine, and it’s  mind-blowing that He has an assignment for each of us. Our desire to be a part of something bigger than ourselves doesn’t have to go unfulfilled. We have so much to learn and so much to see, so much life waiting to be lived. When we recognize that we don’t know it all, we can learn something new.

So here’s to that feeling of being small in a city larger than life. Here’s to getting from point A to point B, and maybe taking a detour along the way. Here’s to figuring it out as you go.

IMG_1393IMG_1346

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Train”

Leave a Reply

