Blog, Lifestyle

Overwhelmed at Christmas

Confession time: I might be ready for Christmas to be over. And I know, this is Christmas. This is supposed to be the time where we are all super festive, generous, and full of joy. But the mall is crowded, I’m running on a few hours of sleep and lots of coffee, I have so much to do, and the traffic all over town is making me crazy.

This morning I slept through my alarm and had ten minutes to make it to church on time. I have a pile of things that need to be mailed, a messy room, things that need written, quite a few presents that still need to be bought and I am supposed to be at work very soon. This is real. I think all of us get this way during the Christmas season and it makes me so sad.

Working at the mall I get to encounter quite a few people. It’s interesting to me to see all of the different attitudes as people buy gifts for the people in their lives. As I watch all the shoppers scrambling around, days before Christmas, it reminds me of the scene from the Grinch where Cindy Lou Who asks the Grinch what Christmas is all about. He responds with, “Presents, I suppose.” This was exactly what she was afraid of.

The gifts and the overwhelming Christmas to-do lists aren’t what Christmas is about. I am hoping that at some point today or tomorrow I can clean my room and maybe take a few minutes to cross a few more things off of my to-do list. Mostly I’m hoping for some time to give God more of my attention that He is so deserving of. It is His birthday after all. I want to give my time to Him cheerfully and not as another thing on my to-do list. I don’t want to be thinking about all the other things I need to be doing. I want to give Him my full attention.

I hope this is encouraging for someone. It was on my heart today in the middle of all of this rushing about.

Thanks for hanging out with me this past week. Happy blogmas and Merry Christmas! I will see you here tomorrow.

To see the other Blogmas posts you’ve missed click here: Blogmas!

 

Leave a Reply

