Faith, Lifestyle

2015 Year-in-Review

A year ago today I posted for the first time on this blog. That post is still one of my favorites because of the honesty and vulnerability it held. At that time of my life I was looking back at some of the baggage I had finally unpacked and the lessons I had learned throughout the year. I was ready to share all of it.

My sister was the first person to read that original post. I was unsure of what to do with it at first. I didn’t know if I should post it or just keep it for myself to look back on, but she encouraged me to post it. The next day I cautiously clicked “Publish” with my eyes closed.

But I am oh so glad I did. This blog has become something I love. Happy birthday to the Amelia Mack Blog, and thank you to every single one of you who has ever read a single post. Thank you for any of you who have shared it, sent me a kind message or a word of encouragement. These things mean more to me than you know. If you have not read that first post, you can do so by clicking here.

For this post a whole year later, I wanted to give my 2015 year-in-review.

2015 has been very good to me. My family gained another tiny little member. I met lots of great people. Our church has continued to grow and thrive. I accomplished goals and saw new places. Here are some of the lessons I have learned/am still learning:

Lesson #1: God shines brightest through my weakness.

This year has put me out of my comfort zone regularly. The feeling of the unknown is terrifying, and the devil has made a habit of reminding me when I’m inadequate in any situation. Whether it be in school or when I first started my new job or dealing with difficult social situations, there were so many times this year where I knew I couldn’t make it on my own strength.

Any time I begin to realize that I can’t do something on my own I am reminded that I don’t have to. How awesome is that? God loves to show us His power, and He loves to take care of His children. I have tried to make a habit of telling Him as soon as I feel that lie of inadequacy start to creep into my heart.  He has never failed to fill me with the peace of knowing He’s got my back. (The creator of the universe has my back, no big deal.)

2 Corinthians 12:9 “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

Lesson #2: I can be 10x better.

This year at my church we had a sermon series about the life of Daniel. We went through the story of Daniel and his three friends as they were taken into captivity in Babylon. Basically these four guys were trying earnestly to please God, and the king of Babylon saw that they were 10x better than all those who were in his kingdom. If you want to read the story it can be found in Daniel chapter 1.

Daniel 1:20 “In every matter of wisdom and understanding about  which the king questioned them, he found them ten times better than all the magicians and enchanters in his whole kingdom.”

God is within all of us who have accepted Christ as our Savior. (Wow.) The Holy Spirit can make us 10x better when we are seeking Christ with everything we have. This has been a comforting thought to me when again that feeling of inadequacy comes knocking.

There were a few things I tried to do this year where I didn’t feel like I was good enough. I had to keep reminding myself that I had God’s power within me making me 10x better. We are never alone in anything God has set out for us to do.

Lesson #3: It is okay to change your mind.

I change my mind all the time and I’ve decided that it’s okay. I am young and I don’t have it all figured out. I used to hate coffee, now I love coffee. I used to think I could never be blonde, but I think I might try it. I sometimes think I want something to be forever, and then I realize I don’t. This is perfectly okay. Never tell yourself that you are stuck. Feel free to change your mind or change your situation. Change change change.

“You are under no obligation to be the same person you were five minutes ago.”

Lesson #4: It is so important to be a friend.

This year a whole group of wonderful people have come into my life, and I have been reminded how important it is to be a good friend. Being known as a friend has to be one of the best reputations you could have. I want to be known for being the best kind of friend. I have learned so much from my friends about how to be a better friend and about being that friend to everyone.

To all of my friends near and far that encourage me everyday, I love you. Thanks for coming into my life and making me better. Thank you for keeping me out on school nights, sending me ugly snapchats at 1 AM, drinking coffee with me in the middle of the night, and being the best supporters.

Proverbs 18:24 “A man who has friends must himself be friendly,
But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”

View More: http://emilycarterphotography.pass.us/amelia

If you have read this far, I am giving you 150 bonus points. See you tomorrow for day 10 of Blogmas! (And hopefully I will see you here again exactly one year from today for our 2016 review.)

To check the blogmas posts you’ve missed, click here: Blogmas!

2 thoughts on “2015 Year-in-Review”

Leave a Reply

