Blog, Travel

4 Tips for Your Next Trip Abroad

As I write this, it has been a full week since I was in Spain. That trip seems like a distant and beautiful dream today. I wish I could put into words how much I loved being in such a beautiful country.

While I was gone, I remembered a few important things to do before and during a trip abroad. Naturally, I’m sharing them with you here.

Also don’t forget to take a look at the videos placed at the bottom of this post. Full of cute Spanish accents and beautiful places.

Here are my 4 tips for your next trip abroad:

1. Learn some history about the place you’re going.

You can start learning weeks before you leave or even during your trip as you travel and take it all in. This trip to Spain was my first time in Europe, and I just couldn’t believe how old everything was. History fascinates me and, fortunately, I had a few good tour guides giving me all the highlights. I walked streets older than Christopher Columbus, and I’m still not over it. The past of the place you’re visiting may be one of the most interesting parts.
2. Being outside of your comfort zone is a good thing.
Being in another country is guaranteed to push you out of your comfort zone. Try lots of new things. Your time will be so much more memorable if you spend it experiencing all of the weird and the wonderful. More importantly though, know your limit. Don’t compromise who you are or your morals just because the culture you are suddenly placed in says it’s okay. That goes for when you’re abroad and when you’re a mile away from home.

3. Brush up on your language skills.

Why, why, why did I not work on my Spanish before I left? The last time I practiced any Spanish was in 11th grade. Not the smartest decision I’ve made. A few key phrases are helpful and good to know. Also make sure to look up what the cultural norm is where you’re going. How do they greet each other? Important to know. Could keep you from seriously embarrassing yourself.

4. Make time in the middle of everything to take it all in.

Don’t leave your journal at home. Write down the little things you don’t want to forget. You’ll never return to that place as the exact same person you are in that moment. Writing some things down is a good way to keep a little bit of that person forever.

On March 8, 2016 while sitting in Alicante, Spain I wrote these words in my journal:

“The world is as big or small as you perceive it to be. When I’m here on the beach and looking at the huge ocean and mountains, the world seems massive. Home seems far far away. But face-timing my friends makes them seem so close. Perception is a funny thing.”

I wanted to find a way to bring all of you with me on this trip so I made some vlogs while I was there. You can watch them here below. I hope you enjoy.

 

 

7 thoughts on “4 Tips for Your Next Trip Abroad”

  1. Hey Amelia, doubt you remember me, but it’s Austin Dickey from way back when. Just came across your site and wanted to say it looks very professional. As someone who designes websites, I thought it was very simplistic; that’s definitely the new web style. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

