Blog, Faith

Plan A

This Easter marks three full years of my family living in Ohio. The past few days have left me reflecting on all that God has done in my life to bring me to this place. The world often feels like a big mess, but it’s comforting to know that God has a plan for each of us.

God’s plan is this mysterious thing we often talk about. At my age I sometimes feel like that’s all we talk about. All of the answers of what to do revolve around this invisible plan we are trying to discover.

When I think of how we ended up here in Ohio I think of God with a big white board sketching out my life story. Maybe with the words “AMELIA-PLAN A” written at the top in red marker.

Here are some things I have learned in the past 3+ years about God’s plan:

He works all things for the good of those who love Him.

God’s plan in leading my family and I to Ohio was one filled with a few bumps and big questions. The initial uprooting from the town I grew up in was filled with so much pain. Satan created so much hurt and divide that he meant for evil. God meant all of it for our good. He works all things towards the good of those who love Him, and I have never seen that more evident in my life than during that time.

Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

He is never surprised.

I think sometimes we expect God to be just as surprised as we are when the plan deviates. (When you planned on going to the University of West Georgia but you end up in Youngstown.)

He has known since the beginning of time where I would be at this moment. He knew all of the events that would lead me and you to this chapter of our lives. No surprises to Him.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

God doesn’t forget you.

When I first got here, I felt like God’s plan for me individually had been a little lost in the plan for my parents. God took the time of me feeling lost to teach me a lot about Himself and myself. I had to learn to let go of my own plan to find His. When I focused on what He might want rather than my own desires, I found purpose and watched things fall together.

I am so thankful that God doesn’t send us an extensive letter with the plan written out. I am so glad He doesn’t write it in the sky. Can you imagine how overwhelming and terrifying it would be? God has big things in store for so many of us. Things we cannot even begin to imagine, and if He told us everything at once I think most of us would run away scared.

We have to let God drive the car of our life and let the plan appear in the headlights as we keep moving. Seeking Him everyday makes the light a little brighter.


 

The week before Easter 3 years ago, my family was voted in at Grace. My dad became pastor, and we found our home. I’m not sure if it was our southern charm that won everyone over, or if God just knit our hearts together. I think it was a little of both, and I am so glad.

I love seeing God unfold this plan. I am so thankful for our home and this phase of life. See you all here soon. I hope you had a lovely Easter.

5 thoughts on “Plan A”

  1. So much wisdom from a young woman. It is so true, yet oftentimes forgotten, that God has great plans for our lives. His plans, not ours. Only when we totally surrender our lives do we see the glory of His plan. Keep on writing Amelia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! I am so proud of you Amelia!
    It was around Easter apx. 17 yrs. ago my heart was broken when your family picked up & moved to Atlanta. You kids were my life and it was hard to see God’s hand at work, but I know he had a plan all the time for each one of you.
    God surely has big plans for you too! I am so thankful for your insite! Keep trusting being excited about your future! Love you Big!💞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

