Blog, Favorites

The Big Life // Book Review

A few weeks ago, I heard Ann Shoket speak in New York. Her book, The Big Life, was set to release the next day. You could tell she was so excited to share this book, and I was so excited to read it. I marched up to her signing table afterwards with tears in my eyes and told her thank you for verbalizing so many things that I’ve felt.

Ann Shoket was the Editor-in-Chief of Seventeen from 2007-2014. I grew up reading this magazine that was filled with stories of girls my age who were doing big things and leading big lives. The underlying message in those stories was always to be confident in who you are and dream big dreams. When I saw that Ann was speaking at this conference, I was pumped. When I cracked open her book, I couldn’t put it down.

This book is all about misconceptions of millennial women, and Shoket writes from the perspective of someone who understands your drive as a young woman trying to chase this ‘big life.’ She gets that we don’t want to do it the way it’s always been done. She knows we want freedom and we want to make up our own rules. She filled this book with great advice and with women’s stories of how their hunger and ambition has them hustling towards their own idea of the ‘big life.’

I heard someone ask her about the millennial stereotype of being entitled. She answered, “Entitled? Yes, you deserve the world, and you’ll work to go get it.”

I am passing along this book to some of the young, hungry, and ambitious ladies I know. If you need inspiration, advice, ideas on how to get ahead, or just to know someone gets it, this is a must-read.

What have you been reading lately? Any fun suggestions?

Xx,

Amelia

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

